Multilingual Classroom

Weblog for EDUP3003

Sample grammar/language task

Posted by sustainablepd on April 30, 2010

GRAMMAR Focus task

4 Responses to “Sample grammar/language task”

  1. paulslotwinski said

    This seems like an enjoyable grammar task, that help students explore and practice a particular grammatical feature. Would we need to include explicit teaching points about that element of grammar?

  2. chantelmirzai said

    What I believe is very effective about tasks like this is that the grammar/language focus springs from a text that students have seen before. As a result they are able to see how the feature works in a known text and are able to identify why it is a relevant feature to learn about. This has been a point emphasised through many of the primary education units of study – embedding learning in quality literature to enhance meaning/understanding and is something that I will certainly endeavor to do in my teaching.

  3. mzsophiaa said

    I agree with Chantel, during the assignment I effectively enjoyed creating the grammar task to determine the level of effectiveness I am able to achieve with students once I have my own classroom. This will allow me to see what students know, where they are having difficulties and how to scaffold their learning to effectively understand that particular aspect of grammar.

  4. melissadeal said

    As Chantel noted, embedding learning through quality literature has been a common thread within our primary units thus far. By including the specific passage – students can more readily access and become absorbed in the language of the text. I particularly like how this task is scaffolded – working with sentences taken directly from the passage, before expanding out to draw upon further individual creativity and understanding.
    For more experienced learners, I think this example format would be suitable. However, for younger students, it might be useful to include word banks or small phrases which can be manipulated to support simile development. Overall, this activity framework can be easily adopted to focus on a wide range of grammatical features.

Leave a comment